Georgia Vital Records

Georgia Vital Records

The Office of Vital Records is responsible for maintaining all state-level vital records created, administered and maintained by the state of Georgia regarding a person’s most important life events. These records include such documents as birth certificates, marriage licenses, and death certificates and are compiled and stored in a permanent central registry state entities uses to develop statistical analysis of its population.

Birth Records

A birth certificate is a vital record that documents the birth of a child. The term "birth certificate" can refer to either the original document certifying the birth or to a certified copy or representation of the original document. The state of Georgia does not have separate categories to place the birth records. But an organized way of recording the records started in 1919 when the state of Georgia enacted the statewide registration of birth records, which were complied with by 1928. The records from the earlier time were recorded by the church registers, clerks’ offices, and county offices. A few counties started recording vital events in the post-Civil War era. The Family History Library has microfilmed some county birth and delayed birth registrations. A few counties started recording vital events in the post-Civil War era. The Family History Library has microfilmed some county birth and delayed birth registrations.

Death Records

A death record is most likely a copy of the information contained in a person’s death certificate. The state of Georgia signed a statewide registration in 1919 and it was complied with by 1922. The earliest death records were recorded by the church and sometimes they were registered at the county offices. These records are kept by the Georgia Department of Human Resources and the Georgia County Health Department.

Marriage/Divorce Records

A marriage/divorce record is issued by a government official only after civil registration of the marriage/divorce occurs. The state of Georgia organizes the marriage/ divorce records into two categories based on the sources the information was/ is gathered, which includes: early-1952 and 1952-present. Marriage records are kept by the individual counties. Records often date back to the time of county organization. By 1805 licenses were often granted by a court of ordinary in the county where the bride resided, or marriage banns were published at a nearby church. You can write to the clerk of the court of ordinary for copies. Many county marriage records dated prior to 1900 are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of marriage records for some counties up to the early 1900s.

Why Vital Records are Available to the Public?

In early 1980, the Georgia State Legislature passed a law named the Georgia Open Records Act. This law was enabled with the last changes in 2012 and aims to ensure disclosure of court records and other public records to the public: Open Records Act. Every person throughout the state can request access to access all public records through the assigned specialized offices within its determined terms.

What Does Vital Records Access mean to You?

The law is similar to the  Georgia Open Meetings Law legislates the methods by which public meetings are conducted while The Georgia Open Records Act or Georgia Sunshine Law, is a series of laws designed to guarantee that the public has access to public records of government bodies at all levels in Georgia.


Georgia State Archives

State Archives

Contact: (678) 263-7566

Results Include

Full State Record Report:

  • Name
  • Location
  • Case Number
  • Case Summary
  • Docket
  • Police Report
  • Court Documents
  • Legal Records
  • Case File
  • Statements
  • Transcripts
  • Legal Forms
  • Case Notes
  • Disposition
  • Trial Records
  • Arbitration
  • Case Evidence
  • Witnesses
  • Interviews
  • Descriptions
  • Mugshots
  • Charges
  • Legal Motions
  • Attorney Records
  • Prosecution Records
Georgia Fayette County Courthouse 1880

Georgia Fayette County Courthouse 1880

  • State Archives holds over 15,000 cubic feet of records.
  • There are 2 levels of Courts: trial and appellate.
  • There are 49 Judicial Circuits in the state of Georgia, each of which has a Superior Court consisting of local citizens numbering between two and 19 members depending on the circuit population.
  • Georgia Transit Association
  • Georgia GEDA
  • ProBono
  • Sober Living America
  • Georgia
  • NGeorgia
  • GRHA